Crossovers and Shared History

Greetings everyone!


It’s the week of Halloween and here at WeGeekGirls that means a visit from one of our favorite authors, Gail Z. Martin

Every year, while on her Days of the Dead blog tour, Gail stops by to share with us what’s new in her world and also share a bit of her writing process with us.

Fresh of the fourth release in her Deadly Curiosities series, Gail is here to chat about writing across multiple series. Take a look!




Crossovers and Shared History

By Gail Z. Martin


All of my urban fantasy series cross over with one another, sharing characters, history, and worldbuilding. They also cross over with the urban fantasy MM paranormal romance series that I write as Morgan Brice. That makes for a large, shared, detailed world with plenty of room to get to know the people and places better—for readers, and for me as an author.


As an author, making all my urban fantasy series part of one shared universe is both fun and necessary. I’m currently writing four urban fantasy series as Gail Z Martin, or co-authored with my husband, Larry N. Martin, and I’m writing another three (so far) as Morgan Brice. From the ‘necessary’ side of the equation, keeping at least seven contemporary series-worlds straight would be a huge task. From the ‘fun’ side, it makes sense to me that people who fight supernatural threats would encounter each other and help each other out—so getting to see them working together and playing off each other is a blast to write.


For readers, each series explores a different corner of the shared universe, so there’s a chance to see and experience so much more across all the series than with any one set of books. And as the characters interact with each other, we see different aspects of their personalities in their various relationships, history, and approaches. It also lets me sneak in little ‘Easter eggs’—in-jokes and mentions that readers who dive deep will get, for an extra little layer.


It’s also interesting for me as the author to be able to draw different groupings of characters into different adventures—either in person, or by phone or online. There’s an evolving body of lore as the characters battle supernatural bad guys that grows and changes, and individual characters gain skills or magical abilities that can shift the balance in a battle. Characters of varying levels of experience and differing ages can provide training, insight, and perspective. The world grows deep roots, and begins to feel solid and real.


Inheritance is my new Deadly Curiosities novel. It reaches back to my first short story for the character of Dante—a water witch, privateer and the ancestor of the modern-day main character. It also connects to The Rising, one of my Morgan Brice Badlands novels. You don’t have to read The Rising in order to enjoy Inheritance, but if you have read both, you’ll enjoy the story on a whole different level. And if you’ve read my short story, Among the Shoals Forever (available as a single story or in Trifles and Folly 2), you’ll get yet another layer. Welcome to my worlds!



My Days of the Dead blog tour runs through October 31 with brand new guest blog posts, giveaways and more! You’ve got to visit the participating sites to get the goodies, just like Trick or Treat! Get all the details about my Days of the Dead blog tour at

Enter my Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a Kindle Prize Package with a free ebook copy EACH of Tangled Web and Assassin’s Honor







About the Author

Gail Z. Martin writes urban fantasy, epic fantasy and steampunk for Solaris Books, Orbit Books, Falstaff Books, SOL Publishing and Darkwind Press. Urban fantasy series include Deadly Curiosities and the Night Vigil (Sons of Darkness). Epic fantasy series include Darkhurst, the Chronicles Of The Necromancer, the Fallen Kings Cycle, the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, and the Assassins of Landria. Newest titles include Inheritance, Vengeance, Convicts and Exiles, and Assassin’s Honor. Together with co-author Larry N. Martin, new books include Spells Salt and Steel: Season One, Night Moves (Spells Salt and Steel #5), Wasteland Marshals and Cauldron: A Joe Mack Shadow Council Archives Adventure.  As Morgan Brice, she writes urban fantasy MM paranormal romance. Books include Witchbane, Badlands and Treasure Trail series.


Find her at , on Twitter @GailZMartin, on www.Facebook.comWinterKingdoms , at blog, on and on Goodreads She is also the organizer of the #HoldOnToTheLight campaign Never miss out on the news and new releases—newsletter signup link




With over 6 different series going, we are sure that Gail Z. Martin has written something for you! Go show her some love!

Thanks for stopping by!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.